2022 Recipients of PLATFORM 31 Artist Development Scheme Announced

From Platform 31:

2022 Recipients of PLATFORM 31 artist development scheme announced
Nationwide artist development scheme by the 31 Local Authority Arts Offices, in collaboration with the Arts Council
Following the success of the inaugural Platform 31 programme in 2021, this innovative scheme has returned for 2022, showing the commitment of Local Authority Arts Offices, together with the Arts Council, to supporting the continued development of artists throughout Ireland.
PLATFORM 31 is designed to support artists to reflect on and develop their practice or make work in a new way, while being connected with and supported by peer practitioners, advisors and mentors. The 31 participating artists – one from each Local Authority area in Ireland – were announced today Tuesday 31st May.
Developed by the Association of Local Authority Arts Offices (ALAAO with the Arts Council, PLATFORM 31 offers two elements of support – financial and developmental – for mid-career artists across all disciplines.
Jenny Sherwin, Wicklow County Council Arts Officer said “The Chief Executive of Wicklow County Council Mr Brian Gleeson is pleased that Wicklow is in a position to host this scheme on behalf of the 30 partner local authorities once again in 2022.  The quality of the applicants and mix of artistic disciplines represented in the selected group showcases the very finest range of artists in Ireland, who are deeply committed to their practice.”
Sinead O’Reilly, Arts Council said “The Arts Council is proud to support the second year of this very thoughtful bursary programme for artists in partnership with local authorities; the response from last year’s artists to the networking and mentoring elements was very heartening and reflected back the benefit of an holistic approach to supporting artists of all disciplines as they navigate new opportunities for their practice.”
The recipient artists, whose disciplines include visual arts, theatre, dance, music, circus/street art, literature and film are:
CARLOW – Chloe Brennan
CAVAN – Alan James Burns
CLARE – Grace Wells
CORK CITY – Éadaoin O’Donoghue
CORK COUNTY – Miriam O’Connor
DONEGAL – Kevin Callaghan
DUBLIN CITY – John Beattie
DUBLIN SOUTH – Kevin Gaffney
FINGAL – Susan Buttner
GALWAY CITY – Treasa O’Brien
GALWAY COUNTY – Stephanie Dufresne
KERRY – Alan Raggett
KILDARE – Ailish Claffey
KILKENNY – Darren Donoghue
LAOIS – Kate Heffernan
LEITRIM – Jo Holmwood
LIMERICK – Joanne Ryan
LONGFORD – Amanda Jane Graham
LOUTH – Una McKevitt
MAYO – Bryan Gerard Duffy
MEATH – Joanna Hopkins
MONAGHAN – Eileen Ferguson
OFFALY – Ian Maleney
ROSCOMMON – Mintesinot Wolde
SLIGO – Bettina Seitz
TIPPERARY – Mollie Anna King
WATERFORD – Clare Scott
WESTMEATH – Aoife Raleigh
WEXFORD – Serena Caulfield
WICKLOW – Maia Nunes
For over 35 years Local Authority Arts Offices have worked directly with artists to ensure the arts thrive in all communities.  Working in a grass roots and foundational way has allowed Arts Officers to identify and to respond to the needs of artists, keeping the arts and cultural agenda focused and relevant in changing environments.
PLATFORM 31 is managed by Wicklow County Council on behalf of The Association of Local Authority Arts Officers, in collaboration with the Arts Council.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement