Aideen Barry, Clare Langan and Margaret Irwin West Elected to Aosdána at its 40th General Assembly

Aosdána, the affiliation of creative artists in Ireland, elected six new members at its annual general assembly in University College Cork last Friday.

Visual artists Aideen Barry; Clare Langan and Margaret Irwin West were elected; as were architect Niall McLaughlin; writers Anna Burns and Doireann Ní Gríofa.

Founded in 1981, Aosdána was established by the Arts Council to honour artists for their contributions to Irish society and to support them in their artistic endeavours.
Membership is capped at 250 living artists from a range of creative disciplines. All members are elected by their peers and are entitled to avail of an annual grant, known as a cnuas, worth €17,850 a year for five years.

A minute’s silence was held to remember members who had died since the last assembly. Those remembered included visual artist Melanie leBroquy; visual artist Sean McSweeney; writer Padraic Fiacc; writer Matthew Sweeney; composer Tommy Peoples and writer Macdara Woods.

Artists must be nominated and then elected by their peers to join.

Image credit: “The Floating World”, Clare Langan, 2015.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement