Centre Culturel Irlandais Residency Recipients Announced

Nora Hickey M’Sichili, director of the Centre Culturel Irlandais, is delighted to announce the recipients of residencies for the Centre’s 2021-2022 programme.

“In these times of uncertainty, CCI is more committed than ever to supporting Irish artists and welcoming them to Paris. Together with offering precious time to concentrate wholly on their work, our residencies allow artists to breathe new life into their practice by encountering all that this world capital has to offer”.

Artist residencies
39 artists across the spectrum of artistic backgrounds will spend one month in Paris to develop their proposed projects, which range from the development of a new presentation of Beckett’s The Unnamable for MoLI or mapping Joyce’s Paris, to documenting the work of artisans who embellish Haute Couture gowns; and from creating a ‘Slow Mo’ dance work as the choreographer journeys from Dublin to Cyprus, to making music to accompany Colum McCann’s latest book about two grieving fathers in the Middle East.

This year sees CCI partnering some 16 organisations for its artist residencies:
Music Network, Contemporary Music Centre (CMC), Moving on Music, Belfast City Council, Design & Crafts Council Ireland (DCCI), Visual Artists Ireland (VAI), Graphic Studio Dublin, Literature Ireland, Poetry Ireland, Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI), Draoícht, Meath Arts Office, Ealaín na Gaeltachta, Galway County Arts Office, RDS and Mason Hayes & Curran.

David Ian Bickley
Jonathan Creasy
Bob Gallagher

Dermot Bolger
John Holten
Jean O’Brien in association with Poetry Ireland
Joanna Walsh in association with Literature Ireland

Conor Caldwell in association with Belfast City Council
Duo ConTe
Caitriona Frost in association with Music Network
Chris Guilfoyle
Christy Leech in association with Meath Arts Office
Colm Mac Con Iomaire
Myles O’Reilly
Jack O’Rourke
Xenia Pestova Bennett in association with Moving on Music
Karen Power in association with CMC
Max Zaska

Andrew Duggan in association with Ealaín na Gaeltachta
Maria Fusco
Kellie Hughes in association with MoLI
Jo Mangan
Rita Marcalo
Liam McCarthy in association with Draíocht
Shane O’Reilly
Sarah-Jane Scott in association with Galway County Arts Office Council

Nadia Armstrong in association with RDS/Mason Hayes & Curran
Felicity Clear
Mary Cremin
Irina Gheorghe
David Lilburn
Kate MacDonagh in association with Graphic Studio Dublin
Paddy McCann
Cecilia Moore in association with DCCI
Jennie Moran
Abigail O’Brien in association with Visual Artists Ireland
Mick O’Shea and Irene Murphy in association with Visual Artists Ireland

The Rev. Liam Swords Foundation Bursary
This bursary provides financial support to a student of talent from the Irish Higher Education Sector to pursue his/her studies/research/training for 3 months based at Centre Culturel Irlandais.

The recipients for 2021/2022 are:
Rosanne Gallenne School of English, Drama & Film, University College Dublin
Tracey Mc Carthy Department of History, Mary Immaculate College, Limerick

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement