20 Years of Injuve Comics Awards | Group Exhibition at dlr LexIcon


20 Years of Injuve Comics Awards | Group Exhibition at dlr LexIcon Date/Time
Date(s) - 09/11/2021 - 07/01/2022
5:30 pm - 6:30 pm

dlr LexIcon




For lovers of comics, an interesting exhibition comes to Dublin via the Spanish Embassy’s Cultural wing Instituto Cervantes, Dublin  – in collaboration with the Spanish youth institute, The Instituto de la Juventud (Injuve) Injuve and dlr County Council, will showcase 20 years of Comics, from Tuesday 9th of November to Friday 7th of January, 2022 at dlr LexIcon. 

Opening the exhibition on the 9th of November at 5.30pm, Dr Michael Connerty (co-chair of the Animation programme at IADT, Dún Laoghaire, where he teaches History of Film, Animation and Visual Culture) and the curator of the exhibition, Gerardo Vilches will discuss the works. 


About Injuve Comics Awards 

The Instituto de la Juventud (Injuve) created the Injuve Comics Awards at the end of the 1990s with the purpose of giving visibility to the projects of young artists who wanted to make comics an art medium with its own entity and specific formats, themes and techniques. 

The Instituto Cervantes Dublin presented this exhibition at the Galway Cartoon Festival recently and will bring it to the LexIcon, Dún Laoghaire, in order to explore and promote the comic culture in Spain. 

The exhibition showcases the artwork of the winners from the very first edition of the competition in 1998 up until 2018. The curator of the exhibition, Gerardo Vilches, has selected one author per year and each chosen author is presenting two works (one from the past, which was awarded the prize, and a current one), so the spectator will be presented with the past and present of the Spanish comics creation through 20 authors and 40 works.

Artists selection includes: Francisco Marchante, Carlos Maiques, Pablo Auladell, Lorenzo Gómez, Gabriel Hernández Walta, Álvaro Ortiz, José Luis López Rubiño & Álex Romero, David Rubín, Martín Romero, Martín López Lam, José Pablo García, Brais Rodriguez, Pau Valls, Elías Taño, Libertad Ballester & Gabriela Pavinski, Antonio Hitos, Marta Chaves, Peter Jojaio, Roberto Massó and Yeyei Gómez.


Go to: Instituto Cervantes 


Loading Map....

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement