Merlin James at OVR:2020 (Art Basel Online)

Merlin James at OVR:2020 (Art Basel Online)

When

23/09/2020 - 26/09/2020    

Event Type

VIP Preview: September 23 — 25, 11am GMT / 12pm CET

Public Dates: September 25 — 26, 11pm GMT / 12am CET

Kerlin Gallery is pleased to present a solo exhibition by Merlin James in OVR:2020, the upcoming edition of Art Basel’s Online Viewing Rooms.

Merlin James’ intensively worked canvases encompass a wide variety of subject matter including empty interiors, rural landscapes, architecture and scenes of sexual intimacy. Often distressed, pierced, cropped or heavily overpainted and sometimes transparent, these works refine and renew many of painting’s most time- honoured concerns – genre and narrative, pictorial space, expressive gesture and the emotive resonance of colour and texture. These new paintings continue James’ very particular practice, ie. to play the grand, complex game of Western painting while reflecting a fully contemporary consciousness of the modern and postmodern disjunctures of history and culture.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement

Close