Galway County Council Arts Office Announces Artist awards 2015

newsGalway County Council Arts Grants
Funding allocations 2015

Under the Community Support Scheme Arts Category, Galway County Council supports events and activities of professional, community and voluntary organisations which stimulate public interest in the arts, promote the knowledge, appreciation and practice of the arts, or assist in improving the standards of the arts in County Galway.

The Community Support Scheme allocations were agreed by Galway County Council at the most recent meeting held on 23 March 2015. The Arts Office looks forward to working with these artists over the coming year.

Artist-In-Schools Scheme 2015
This scheme is open to all primary schools in Galway County Council’s administrative area and its aim is to offer children the opportunity to work with a professional artist on a once-off project in visual arts, dance, literature, drama, music, photography or film. This years successful schools are:
Athenry Boys School with artist Beata Anna Fijalkowska
Doorus N.S. in Doorus, Kinvara with artist Christopher Banahan
Fohenagh N.S. with artist Vanessa Porter Kelly
Gael Scoil Riada, Athenry with filmmaker Paul Murphy
Kilbeacanty N.S in Kilbeacanty, Gort with artist Shona MacGillivray
Scoil na Maighdine Muire gan Smál in Camus with artist Mikey Ó Fhlatharta
Scoil na bhForbacha in Na Forbacha with theatre maker Niall Cleary
St. Cuanas N.S in Kilcoona with musician Mairéad Berrill
We look forward to seeing the various projects develop over the coming months.

Tyrone Guthrie Centre Residency Award 2015
This award is designed to support the creative and professional development of practicing artists living in County Galway through a two week working period spent at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre in Co. Monaghan.

The 2015 awardees are Katarina Baker, Sadie Mackey and Lisa O’Donnell

Individual Artist Bursaries 2015
Artist Bursary awards provide funding to individual artists and are offered in respect of the professional development of individual artists practicing in any of the artistic disciplines. Funding is allocated towards professional development or further training opportunities or the development of new work including recording, exhibitions, residency or publications. Bursaries are awarded on the basis of artistic merit over any other factors.

The 2015 awardees are:
Miqueal Barceló, Niamh Fahy, Lasirfhíona Ní Chonaola, Rosie Gurran, Geraldine Mills, Louise Manifold, Margaret Irwin West, Anne Marie Kennedy, Úna Quigley, Jennifer Cunningham, Cath Taylor, Dr. Francis Heery, Brian Twomey, Nuala Ní Fhlathúin & Lisa O’Donnell.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement