Rijeka to be European Capital of Culture in Croatia in 2020

rijeka-1The selection panel of independent experts responsible for assessing the Croatian cities competing to be European Capital of Culture in 2020 has recommended that Rijeka should be awarded the title. The other three cities short-listed after the initial pre-selection round in May 2015 were Dubrovnik, Osijek and Pula. The formal designation of Rijeka by the relevant Croatian authorities is expected to take place in the coming months.

In accordance with the Decision of the European Parliament and of the Council which governs the European Capitals of Culture Union action , Croatia and Ireland are the two Member States entitled to host the event in 2020.

In Ireland, the preselection took place in November 2015 with three cities short-listed (Galway, Limerick and Waterford for the three Sisters) and the final selection meeting will take place on 14-15 July 2016.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement