Short list of Golden Fleece Awards 2017 Announced

The trustees of the Golden Fleece Award are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2017 Golden Fleece Award. The artists and craft makers selected are:

Chloe Dowds, Gerry Davis, John Lee, Fiona Mulholland, Nuala O Donovan, Yanny Petters.

The 2017 Golden Fleece Award attracted more 120 entries and the trustees were impressed with the high standard of work submitted. Once more the Award recognises the excellence and ambitions of both emerging and established artists.”With so many entries, this has been a great year for the Award,” says chair of the Golden Fleece trustees, Barbara Cotter. “The expert panel had a very tough job indeed selecting this year’s winners from such a broad range of wonderful work”.

The Golden Fleece is the most valuable prize available to Irish artists and craft makers. There is an annual prize fund of €20,000. This winner is usually awarded between €12,000 and €15,000 and others on the shortlist will receive smaller awards. The overall winner will be announced at a ceremony at 11am on Tuesday 21 February in the Tony O’Reilly Room at the RHA, Ely Place, Dublin 2.

The Golden Fleece Award is now in its 16th year. It is an independent artistic prize fund established as a charitable bequest by the late Lillias Mitchell who died in 2000. The first Golden Fleece Award was launched a year later and was awarded in 2002.

The judging panel was led by Neil Read and included Helen McAllister, Dara O’Leary, Eoin MacLochlainn and Robert Russell.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. You can review our Privacy Policy under the menu above: About VAI > VAI Privacy Statement